Week 29: School Supplies in Honduras

July 21, 2018

I confess. I had a hard time this summer keeping up with my weekly service. Not the actual service part; I actually managed to stick to that. It was the follow up that got me–actually writing the blog posts. I am slowly catching up, so please bear with me!

In July, I spent a week in Guanaja, one of the Bay Islands of Honduras in the Caribbean. Many years ago, when I was travelling extensively in Central and South America, I visited Utila, another of the three Bay Islands (the other being the more developed Roatan), and I was thrilled to return to these beautiful islands after 25 years.

My brother recently moved to Honduras, and is managing a charming small resort, Cabanas on Clark’s Cay, located just off the coast of the main island. In preparation for my trip, I needed to find a project I could complete while on the island. After speaking with my brother, we decided that school supplies would be a huge benefit to the local children. I packed the largest suitcase I could legally carry, and filled all the remaining space with pencils, pens, note cards, pencil pouches, folders, and other supplies.

Once in Guanaja, I learned that Bonacca Cay is the municipal hub and home to most of the approximately 10,000 people who live in Guanaja. The other two main settlements on Mangrove Bight and Savannah Bight.

Savannah Bight, with just over 1,000 residents, is the closest settlement to where my brother is living, and is home to many of his employee’s at Clark’s Cay. On my first day in Honduras, we attended a spirited soccer match there. The soccer team we were cheering for is sponsored by Clark’s sister resort, Villa on Dunbar Rock. During a break in the soccer match, we walked around the town, ending up at the small school. We decided that this school should be the recipient of the supplies I had brought with me.

When you are traveling, why not look for a way that you can give back to the local community? You’ll feel connected with the place and the people long after you return home.

One thought on “Week 29: School Supplies in Honduras

  1. Rita Mathis August 22, 2018 / 10:16 pm

    You continue to amaze and inspire me Gigi! What a a great experience for all. I really enjoyed this post. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *